Caution: Road Work Ahead

This is my second attempt at a classroom blog. My first attempt resulted from an assignment in a graduate course, but for this blog, I wanted a more authentic approach to chronicle my post-doctoral experiences in the K-12 classroom. Although I am not new to the teaching profession, I find myself looking at the world differently since I have completed my formal education. When I see graffiti in the bathroom, hear disgruntled remarks from students (or teachers), or read new policy or assessment mandates, I find myself reflecting on the ways my own understanding of these events have shifted in recent years. This blog is my attempt to bring into focus what I feel I can do for my community while seeking greater understanding for the concerns of the community for which I serve. In the end, my hope is for these two understandings to somehow reconcile in a tangible way for greater progress for all. Feel free to make a detour with me; I gladly accept comments and questions in this ongoing work. Welcome and safe travels to you all!

By Leif Skoogfors (This image is from the FEMA Photo Library.) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
By Leif Skoogfors (This image is from the FEMA Photo Library.) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Leave a Reply

